Legal Question in Bankruptcy in New Jersey

I filed for chapter 7 bankruptcy in 2007 in New Jersey, and it was discharged in March of 2008. A reaffirmation agreement was filed, signed by me and the creditor, for both a 1st and 2nd mortgage on a house I owned.

The agreement was not signed by my lawyer, and at the hearing the judge said she would not approve it, but no order was filed saying that the reaffirmation was either approved or disapproved.

Is the reaffirmation valid? It is signed by me and the creditor, but no one else. There is no court order saying approved or disapproved

Asked on 5/24/13, 12:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Glenn Brown Real World Law, P.C.

Normally reaffirmations are not done on home mortgages, ask your bankruptcy lawyer your question, that lawyer has your file and will not have to speculate as to the status of this matter.

Read more
Answered on 5/24/13, 12:35 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in New Jersey