Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Jersey
is a third degree child endangerment charge considered a felony?
4 Answers from Attorneys
In New Jersey we do not have felonies and misdemeanors. We have crimes and disorderly persons offenses. A third degree crime is punishable by up to five years in prison. Call me, if you like.
You can call our firm for more information but I have posted the law below: www.64njlaw.com or (732) 64-NJLAW. I suggest you get any attorney.
The third degree charge indicates that it is a 3rd degree felony charge which is punishable by up to 18 months to 5 years in prison and a 15 thousand dollar fine.
NJSA 9:6-1. Abuse, abandonment, cruelty and neglect of child; what constitutes
9:6-1. Abuse, abandonment, cruelty and neglect of child; what constitutes. Abuse of a child shall consist in any of the following acts: (a) disposing of the custody of a child contrary to law; (b) employing or permitting a child to be employed in any vocation or employment injurious to its health or dangerous to its life or limb, or contrary to the laws of this State; (c) employing or permitting a child to be employed in any occupation, employment or vocation dangerous to the morals of such child; (d) the habitual use by the parent or by a person having the custody and control of a child, in the hearing of such child, of profane, indecent or obscene language; (e) the performing of any indecent, immoral or unlawful act or deed, in the presence of a child, that may tend to debauch or endanger or degrade the morals of the child; (f) permitting or allowing any other person to perform any indecent, immoral or unlawful act in the presence of the child that may tend to debauch or endanger the morals of such child; (g) using excessive physical restraint on the child under circumstances which do not indicate that the child's behavior is harmful to himself, others or property; or (h) in an institution as defined in section 1 of P.L. 1974, c. 119 (C. 9:6-8.21), willfully isolating the child from ordinary social contact under circumstances which indicate emotional or social deprivation.
Although we do not call them felonies in New Jersey, this is the equivalent of a felony charge. It is very serious and you definitely need an attorney to represent you. Please contact my office for a free consultation to discuss how I can assist you in this matter. Thank you.
Sincerely yours, -Ronald Aronds, Esq.-
In New Jersey we do not use the terms "Felonies" and "Misdemeanors" Instead we use the terms "Indictables" and Disorderly Persons"
Your matter is an "Indictable" which is what you would think of as a "Felony"
A third degree charge carries a maximum sentence of 3-5 years of incarceration. HOwever, a third degree charge has a presumption of no incarceration if it is a first offense.
Often, through a Plea Deal on a first offense on certain 3rd degree crimes can be resolved through a pre trial intervention program which would result in no criminal record.
IF you have any questions, or wish a free consultation please feel free to contact me:
David Polsky, Esq.
264 Union Blvd.
Related Questions & Answers
Can i be charged a fee to apply for a court appointed attorney in municipal court Asked 10/23/12, 11:31 pm in United States New Jersey Criminal Law
I recently got charged with strong arm robbery, assault,and criminal restraint. I... Asked 10/22/12, 7:55 pm in United States New Jersey Criminal Law
My case was dismissed, my co defendant plead guilty and now hes trying to retract... Asked 10/21/12, 7:23 am in United States New Jersey Criminal Law
How much time will you get for cds and a gun in nj Asked 10/17/12, 2:58 pm in United States New Jersey Criminal Law