Legal Question in Criminal Law in New Jersey

I have an old warrant for drug possession in Atlantic County from 1998 that I was unaware of that is preventing me from obtaining a passport. Due to a misunderstanding on how the statute of limitations works I assumed I was free and clear all these years. I joined the military 5 years after this arrest and included on my application, obtained a waiver, even obtained a secret clearance. And the investigators working on my clearance dug up a $100 ticket that I had paid but forgot to put on the application. They came and questioned me about it. But they didn't notice a felony drug warrant that I admitted to? But now I can't get a passport and I need to figure out how to clear this up. I live in California now and don't have the time or the means to go all the way across the country and sit in jail indefinitely til it's worked out. What can I do? Thank you for any advice, this has bwen such a pain, 25 years ago for pete' s sake.

Asked on 2/05/18, 10:32 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

We could help you with this. Call us at 1-855-9-JEFLAW to discuss

Read more
Answered on 2/05/18, 10:37 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New Jersey