Legal Question in Civil Litigation in New Jersey

If Me And My Sister Are Both Listed As Defendants In A Court Case For Back Rent, Would Be Both Need To Be Present, Regardless If We Both Live In The Same Home, Or Can At Least One Person Be Present?

Asked on 5/12/16, 5:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Corbett Corbett Law Firm LLC

A defendant who does not appear and is not represented by a lawyer is in default and the suit will be decided against them. One non-lawyer defendant cannot represent another.

See also:

Read more
Answered on 5/12/16, 6:48 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in New Jersey