Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

After fire destroyed our home on 4/17/08 we have rebuilt on same location as specified by our fire insurance co.(entire home and foundation and contents were all lost)we are now living in rebuilt home which is only partially furnished. Our insurance co. "INSISTS" we need to actually buy the rest of our furniture etc. before they release all the money to us/We already purchased bedroom furniture & living room furniture on credit cards, along with modest bedding and dishes/pots/and appliances/We cannot continue to buy on credit and pay the finance charges only/this is not including many tools and things like my mothers sewing machine and both our mothers dishes and keepsakes/We dont have things like medicine cabinets and mirrors/curtains,blinds,drapes or rugs We were very blessed by our church and others with some clothing and dishes and cookeware;but we would certainly like the option of buying things we did have before. DO WE ACTUALLY HAVE TO BUY EVERYTHING WE NEED BEFORE REIMBURSEMENT FROM INSURANCE COMPANY? Thank You for your time and consideration!

Asked on 2/08/10, 10:25 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


in order to make such a determination, the insurance policy that was in effect at the time of the fire must be reviewed to see if there is a clause that establishes that requirement.

Read more
Answered on 2/13/10, 12:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey