Legal Question in Insurance Law in New Jersey

Hi I was involved in an accident in NY and left the scene. I subsequently filed an insurance claim saying someone hit my car and drove away while parked in NJ, my insurance company paid the claim in the amount of $12k and a month later the person I hit filed a claim against me as my license plate was left behind on the scene, but there is no proof i was driving the car. I am being told to come clean to my insurance company so they can defend me from the claim by this person who is claiming he was injured. Is the right course of action to call my insurance company and tell them the truth now even though i reported something different previously.

Asked on 10/27/14, 12:49 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

You are doing the right thing by reaching out. You could wind up getting arrested if this isn't worked out the right way. Call me at 732/773/2768 to discuss.

Read more
Answered on 10/27/14, 2:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Insurance Law questions and answers in New Jersey