Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New Jersey


A fire alarm went off in my wife's skincare shop while she was away (at about 4am).

There was no smoke or a fire inside the shop and my wife was told that it was probably triggered by a water leak (later on she found out that the leak was not located in the shop anyway). Basically it wasn't triggered by our actions or any of my wife's customer's actions.

The fire department crew decided to break the front glass anyway and damage the lock to gain access to the store before my wife arrived with the key.

Q. who is liable for such damage (again, the alarm was not triggered because of our fault and by any appliance in the shop)?

Owner of the house from whom we lease the store, police/fire department or us (our insurance)?

Please explain the response.

Thank you

Martin Dobrygowski

Asked on 1/02/11, 7:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

John Corbett Corbett Law Firm LLC

I suggest that your wife tender the claim to her business insurance company and let them sort it out.

See also:

Read more
Answered on 1/09/11, 9:44 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Jersey