Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New Jersey

We live in New Jersey. My cousin convinced my mother to allow her name (mom's) to be the name on the mortgage to purchase a home for the cousin. The cousin lives in the home and only her name is on the deed. The cousin is currently paying the mortgage payments. My mother is 80 years old. My Mom owns her own house free and clear. I am the only child. My Mom's will specifically leaves everything to me or to my son if I'm not living. The cousin is not named in the will. My wife is the executrix of the will.

My concern is that when my Mom dies my cousin will stop paying the mortgage and my Mom's estate (not a large one just a modest home) will be legally forced to pay the the mortgage while the cousin retains ownership of the home. Can this happen? What would you advise?

Asked on 4/30/10, 7:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amy Klauber Klauber & Klauber, LLP

This is a legitimate concern that can be resolved in several different ways. Please cotact me to discuss the options. My telephone number is 732-663-1500.

Thank you.

Read more
Answered on 5/06/10, 5:08 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Jersey