Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New Jersey

my sister's and I closed on a cash sale in February 2017 of the family home left to us after our mother's passing.

as part of the contract, we were required to put $40,000 in escrow for a needed septic replacement - we were paid the agreed cash sale price less the $40K

The septic replacement was made, inspected and approved by the township - bills were submitted totaling approx. $27K

Subsequently, the buyer decided to upgrade the system to allow for 4bedrooms as opposed to the homes existing 3 bedrooms

Now they're asking for the full $40K and told us the upgraded system was required by the Township. We have spoken directly with the Twp. Engineer who denies that upgrade was required and confirmed he had signed off on and fully approved the first replacement.

the buyers are not responding to our attorneys request to disburse the escrow $ based on the first set of bills

what are our options - this issue is outside of our original "scope of work" with our attorney but we don't want to contract/spend a lot more $ for something that should be easily resolved.

Asked on 8/31/17, 9:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

You have to take them to court. Feel free to call me at 1-855-9-JEFLAW to discuss

Read more
Answered on 8/31/17, 9:52 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New Jersey