Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New Jersey

My aunt had passed away in NJ in 2014 leaving a life insurance policy of $17,000 with 2 beneficiaries. The beneficiaries are her two siblings, one being my father who had passed away in NJ in 2015. My surviving aunt (executor of my deceased aunt's estate) has already claimed her share. The life insurance company is requiring that I submit a small estate affidavit and tax ID # to claim my father's share of the policy. To my knowledge, there was never an executor for my father's estate since he died in a nursing home with little or no assets. How do I acquire the small estate affidavit? Do the courts need to be involved? The life insurance policy will send a check to me endorsed to the "Estate of (my father's name)." What do I need to do to cash this check? I would greatly appreciate any advice.

Asked on 10/05/19, 8:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Jef Henninger, Esq Law Offices of Jef Henninger, Esq.

I suggest you get an attorney to do all this for you. If you make a mistake, it could cost you a lot. It's not a very expensive situation for an attorney to handle. Call us at 1-855-9-JEFLAW to discuss

Read more
Answered on 10/05/19, 9:42 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New Jersey