Legal Question in Banking Law in New York

Good afternoon.

I am a teacher in a private school. In July I notified my employer that I would be would be moving on to a more beneficial means of employment to which they agreed. They, however, still paid me through the bank in August. I have since withdrawn the money and spent it without realizing that it was an extra credit to my account.

It is now mid-September and my previous employer has asked that I repay the money. Am I obligated to do such legally? Thank you


Asked on 9/12/17, 9:22 am

2 Answers from Attorneys

Locksley Wade Law Office of Locksley O. Wade

Yes, you must repay the money. A refusal to repay is larceny, a crime.

Read more
Answered on 9/12/17, 11:28 am


Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Yes.

Read more
Answered on 9/13/17, 8:20 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Banking Law questions and answers in New York