Legal Question in Business Law in New York

Can an incorporated church file for a DBA?

“John Doe” is the founder and the senior pastor of “XYZ Church”. The church has been legally incorporated in the state of NY and is in existence for more than 5 years.

Can “XYZ Church” file for a DBA in the name of its founder say “John Doe Ministries”? Is this legally legitimate? if yes, how do we file?

Asked on 3/01/19, 1:01 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Yes the church is a corporation and can file a Certificate of Assumed Name ("doing business as").

Here's the link to the form you need and extra information.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 3/02/19, 2:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in New York