Legal Question in Business Law in New York

Can a Union Employer hire a Union employee and pay them, each week, with two separate pay checks? One with taxes, dues, insurance & unemployment taken out and the other one as a 1099? The job begins in Feb. and continues for about 4-5 months. Approximately 20 working weeks.

Same job, same employer, same employee, just splitting up the salary each week so they don't pay taxes on 1/2 of the agreed upon weekly salary. This is a Union Job and each employee is a pd. up member in that Union.

Asked on 1/02/22, 1:46 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

My recommendation is to ask your shop steward to look into the situation.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 1/02/22, 3:04 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in New York