Legal Question in Constitutional Law in New York

Given the Justice Department’s policy, it seems unlikely that a President would be indicted while in office. I’ve read that, to avoid the statute of limitations expiring, a sitting President could be indicted by a grand jury and the indictment kept sealed until the President leaves office. If that’s the case, does that mean that an indicted President could run for a second term without the electorate ever knowing that there is substantial evidence that the candidate they may be considering may be a criminal? It seems that the public’s ability to make an informed decision when choosing the person to lead the country would be greatly compromised. And, it would certainly put the incumbent at an advantage over other candidates who might also be under indictment.

Asked on 3/06/19, 9:11 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Unfortunately the answer to that question is above my pay grade.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 3/06/19, 11:28 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Constitutional Law questions and answers in New York