Legal Question in Consumer Law in New York

I recently received a text message from an ex boyfriend who I haven’t spoken to in six years. Years ago, he assaulted, I got a rape kit done and I have a text message from him admitting it but I never reported it. Since then, I’ve been diagnosed with PTSD and anxiety. I did not want to hear from this man. He works at UPS and told me that he got my number off of a UPS package. I am not sure if this would constitute as a case and I am also not sure of what area of law this falls under. Do I have a case against UPS because they didn’t protect my privacy?

Asked on 8/17/21, 10:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys


No case against UPS likely, but you can always request or through someone that he not contact you. If he does, you can seek a protective order.

Read more
Answered on 8/17/21, 7:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in New York