Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

An arrest for selling 2 grams or less or one cigarette of marijuana is classified as criminal possession of marijuana in the 5th degree (New York State Penal Law ยง 221.35), a Class B misdemeanor punishable by 3 months in jail.

Does this always have to be the case? or is it possible that, for example, that if it's a troubled kid of 18, who grew up in foster care system, that punishment could instead be meeting with a court ordered mentor in a mentor-mentee program such as boys and girls club, in lieu of jail time?

Asked on 10/02/18, 8:38 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Palumbo Palumbo & Associates, PC

That is not possible. He needs to hire a lawyer ASAP.

Read more
Answered on 10/11/18, 10:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York