Legal Question in Elder Law in New York

I had to file for guardianship for my mother because she appointed 2 old woman as her health care proxy. at the end the state appointed her a court guardian. my question is the judge awarded the monies from sale of her home to have the lawyer be paid 12,500 out of my moms money. im bankrupt. the lawyers bill is 21,000 am i liable for the leftover since the courts awarded that money to the lawyer as his fee. i filed on behalf of my mom for guardianship but lost as she changed her will while ill and took my name off of everything. its a mess. anyway the judge already made the determination. i only want to know if im liable to pay the rest of the bill .since the judge make the amount determined.

Asked on 6/12/18, 10:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

No you are not responsible for the rest of the lawyer's bill.

Read more
Answered on 6/12/18, 2:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in New York