Legal Question in Elder Law in New York

Hi, I have POA for my Mother who willl be 93 in October of 2017. She was recently placed in an Assisted Living Facility by my sister and niece. This was done without my consent. They say she is capable of making her own discussion, which is questionable to me. She dose not always comprehend what she reads or hears. She is very easily brain washed by certain family members. I do have in writting Health Care Proxy, but my mother has verbally assigned my neice . I have not seen anything in written on this matter. The Assisted Living Facility montly cost is more then her montly income. Am I as her POA legal/personnaly responsible for her finacial cost there or any other debt she may occur.

Asked on 8/27/17, 10:49 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

No you are not responsible for mom's debts as her POA.

Read more
Answered on 8/27/17, 1:49 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in New York