Legal Question in Elder Law in New York

Type Your Question Here...Will white out on a legal form void the form? A lot of years ago, we printed a POA form from a website and had it signed in front of a notary who noticed that the wrong month was pre-printed in the date section. That's the way the form was designed. The pre-printed month was different from the month the POA was being signed and notarized so she whited it out and didn't wait for the white out to dry but wrote in the correct month above the whited out part. The signer now lacks mental capacity and we want to avoid guardianship proceedings. Could there be a problem with using this POA?

Asked on 10/08/18, 11:48 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Yes of course there could be a problem.

Read more
Answered on 10/08/18, 7:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in New York