Legal Question in Family Law in New York

My husband and I divorced in 1992. In the divorce decree it states that he shall pay the cost for a Qualified Domestic Order. ( I do not know if this was ever done). The decree also states that I am entitled o 50% of the pension and retirement benefits from the date of marriage until the date of the summons was served.

I do not know how to proceed to receive this benefit as my ex-husband is now deceased ( he is survived by his second wife) and I believe that my attorney is deceased.

Asked on 8/31/16, 12:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

1. The Court file must be reviewed.

2. Was the holder of the pension (employer) contacted?

3. May be too late depending on date of death.

Read more
Answered on 8/31/16, 1:14 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York