Legal Question in Intellectual Property in New York

I have seen many fanfiction videos being created using copyrighted characters on YouTube. Like this one -

I want to know if it's legal to create such videos using dolls and toys of recognizable and copyrighted characters. If not then what may be the consequences of such violation.

Also... Why don't the companies seem to be prosecuting any of these video makers? There are 100s.

Asked on 12/21/15, 2:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

You can't copyright a character, you can only receive trademark protection.

Read more
Answered on 1/08/16, 8:29 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in New York