Legal Question in Intellectual Property in New York

are product descriptions for a generic product from a competitor’s website copyrightable?

e.g. the product ID is “chair-01”and the product description is “wooden chair, black, 12lbs”

thanks, Nathaniel


Asked on 2/09/13, 5:57 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Adelman Adelman Matz, P.C.

Yes. A product description is copyrightable. However, the generic nformation is not. As an example, the way the phone book lists addresses is copyrightable, but the addresses themselves are not

Read more
Answered on 2/09/13, 6:06 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in New York