Legal Question in Intellectual Property in New York

I have written some books (self-published through Amazon). About a year ago a friend offered to convert the books to ebooks for free. She is still in the process of working on the books, but has recently expressed strong opposition to my writing. I think it is best end her involvement in the project. I would like to pay her for her time and ask her to delete my book files. I would also like to ensure that she has not shared my files with anyone else. Is there some legal document that I can download that might fit this situation. I think it would be a form of a "cease and desist" document. However, she has not taken anything. I just want to have some legal document in place to protect myself should a problem arise in the future. I would also like the document to reflect that I have paid her for her time and effort.

Thanks for your help.


Asked on 2/07/16, 8:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

James, your concerns are justified. In addition to a cease and desist your copyrights should also be secured and protected.

Please write to me directly for further assistance in this matter.

Roman R. Fichman Esq.

Info (at)

Read more
Answered on 2/07/16, 10:17 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Intellectual Property questions and answers in New York