Legal Question in International Law in New York

Last summer while visiting in a large Canadian city that we go to often, I found what looked like a child's necklace on the sidewalk of a very busy street. Not knowing anything about jewelry, I honestly thought it was a cheap piece of junk from the Dollar Store. I stuck it in my pocketbook, thinking I would give it to my granddaughter to play with when I got home. I had completely forgotten about it, until today when I found at the bottom of my pocketbook. Out of curiosity, I took a better look at it with a magnifying glass, and saw some letters and numbers on it that meant nothing to me. I did a lot of research online, found out it is a woman's bracelet made by a very famous jewelry maker, and, if authentic, could be valued at around $1500. We will be going back to this city in a month or so. We want to turn it over to the police and tell them the truth as to where and when we found it. We would want to see it returned to the rightful owner, if they can be found. However, I am afraid that the police may not believe us and think that we somehow did something underhanded, or illegal, by not turning it in right away. In fact, I am even concerned that the police will tell us we never should have left Canada without turning it in. We want to do the right thing, but do not want to end up in any legal trouble.

Asked on 1/10/19, 7:37 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

When you get to Canada, mail the bracelet to the city Police Department with a note explaining what you said above. Anonymously.

Read more
Answered on 1/11/19, 5:51 am

Related Questions & Answers

More International Law questions and answers in New York