Legal Question in Investment Law in New York

I'm a temporary employee at a variety of law firms doing mainly clerical work. Some firms are very strict about buying and selling stocks, apart from investing in an indexed mutual fund. I generally work 4-6 days a week. My question is: Am I considered "staff" and thus subject to the same investing rules as the attorneys and other permanent employees? Or, as a casual employee, can I invest in companies outside of a mutual fund? And, if I am considered "staff," and decide to stop working for law firms, is there a period I will have to - legally - wait before being allowed to invest again? Thanks.

Asked on 1/22/18, 1:44 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I think that's more of an issue of the agreement you have with the people you work for. There's no law which answers your question; it's a matter of interpreting the agreement you voluntarily made with your employer.

Read more
Answered on 1/26/18, 11:33 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Investment Law questions and answers in New York