Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

I recently purchased a house with a tenant. Tenant was told they had 6months to leave before house was sold. They stopped paying rent in September (lived off security this month) did not pay October or November. I believe they are getting ready to leave in December can I sue them for rent arrears?

Asked on 11/28/21, 10:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Yes. Suggest you do it before they move away. Do they have a written lease? If not, suggest you move to evict.

Read more
Answered on 11/28/21, 6:08 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York