Legal Question in Medical Malpractice in New York

Separated Husband's Percentage

I am a named party in a med mal case involving my wife of 20 years. We have been separated almost 3 years now, although it is not a legal separation. She had a massive bi-lateral stroke 2 days after the birth of our 2nd born son. She is permanently disabled and without going into details will never be able to work again. I had stayed with her for 6 years after her stroke. Her case has been settle for 2.4 million dollars. Our lawyer has stated he needs to sit down with me to discuss what my part of the settlement is. He has mentioned in the past that there is a formula to figure this out. My question is if anyone can tell me what that formula is? I'd like to go into his office with some idea of what I am entitled (for lack of a better word) to. Thank you!

Asked on 3/30/04, 11:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Re: Separated Husband's Percentage

There is no formula. Suggest you speak with another attorney.

Read more
Answered on 3/30/04, 4:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Medical Malpractice Law questions and answers in New York