Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

in 1993, I mortgaged a home for my Sister. She promised to get it out of my name in a year, and take over the mortgage, etc. This home is in Buffalo, NY. I had only a copy of a deed from 1993. My sister died. Another deed signed by me, deeding this house to her in 1998 has surfaced...I did not remember doing this..and I think I know why she wanted this done. She was finally going to get this house re-mortgaged and in her name. Well, that never happened, obviously, as this mortgage is still in my name. So, now my sister did not have a will. She does have a daughter and a son. Are they able to deed this house back to me. I want to get it sold, and now I cant do this new deed is in my dead sisters name. I am now retired and live in Florida. Her children are still in Buffalo, NY.

Asked on 4/25/18, 8:55 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Whoever is in charge of your sister’s estate will sell the house and payoff the mortgage. No need to transfer the deed back to you.

Read more
Answered on 4/26/18, 7:07 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York