Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

I have a coop in Brooklyn NY but moved out about a year ago. I left 2 friends in the apartment that has never bothered anyone. I recently received a letter stating that I am in violation of sublet rules and have x amount days to cure or risk losing my apartment. The building does not allow subletting which imo is a real burden for some people. Do I have ny legal grounds? Do I have to move back in?

Asked on 8/15/17, 11:08 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You were given a copy of the co-op bylaws when you bought the apartment. You'll be fighting a losing battle; if the bylaws say 'no subletting' then those are the rules you agreed to.

Read more
Answered on 8/23/17, 4:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York