Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

My family listed a property with a realtor. A family member now wants to buy it. Do we have to use the realtor? The family member is one of the owners and so would be buying out the other two. We have done this before by having a lawyer draw up the bill of sale and changing the deed. This realtor has had the property for 1.5 years without one offer. In New York State, do we still have to pay his fees and/or use him for the sale?

Asked on 8/03/18, 12:42 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I can't answer that question without seeing the agreement you signed with the realtor.

Read more
Answered on 8/03/18, 1:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York