Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

My family has maintenanced A lot Which we have used as our Backyard for more than 44 years. The property owner of the house next door to us went behind our backs and purchased the lot, and without knowledge of this my family stilled maintained up keep of what we thought to be as our Backyard. My question is : Can my family begin an Adverse Possession Case Against this Property Owner?

Asked on 5/23/17, 3:24 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

No. Since you thought the property belongned to you it was not adverse to the owner. Therefore you have no grounds for adverse possession based on the facts as you have described them.

Read more
Answered on 5/23/17, 6:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York