Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York


I purchased my house in March of 2016 from a relocation company. The disclosures provided from the previous owners were fraudulent and did not state the truth about the known issues with the HVAC system. Soon after the purchase, there were issues with the HVAC system and eventually I was told it had to be replaced. I have a signed receipt from 2013 with the previous owners stating that they are aware that it has to be replaced. When I purchased the house, I ordered it to be serviced. The HVAC contractor gave a receipt for closing. I contacted the HVAC servicer and he does not have paperwork, but states that he was there and told them that it had to be replaced with an estimate. He cannot provide any backup other than when he was there. Do I have any case against the previous owners or the relo company? The response to the demand letter states that the relo company is not liable because they were just the transferor. The previous owners are saying it was between the buyers and the relo company. Because of the $6,000, should i pursue this in small claims court? Thank You

Asked on 3/08/17, 8:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I don't see how you have a lot to lose, except for your time and aggravation and court costs. Look online for the Small Claims rules; I think you can only sue for $5,000.00 or less.

Read more
Answered on 3/08/17, 1:00 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York