Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

We own a second home (New York State) which we engaged in a written rent-to-own agreement with a couple. They paid rent infrequently at first and have not paid any rent in a couple years. We have attempted to eviction proceedings but the tenants refuse to accept the eviction notice and we've been told by our lawyer we can't do anything until they accept the notice. This seems ridiculous.... At this point we just want out from under this mortgage and don't care if we retain the home, accrued equity, etc.. What is the best course of action to take to remove this home from our lives?

Asked on 2/13/18, 11:37 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I would advise you to see another lawyer for a second opinion.

Read more
Answered on 2/14/18, 6:39 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York