Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

Succession Rights

I live in NYC, in a rent controlled apartment. The original lease (dated 1968) is in my husband's name who passed away a long time ago. I have been living in the apartment and paying the rent. I know as a wife, I can legal succession rights to the apartment. I also, now that the landlord is not required to provide me with a new lease because the rent controlled tenants are "Statutory Tenants". My question is this: Can my sister, who started living with me continuously 5 years ago, have succession rights to the apartment when I die? Or does NY state have a limit on how many time succession rights can be claimed in a rent controlled apartment to transfer possession to another person. Or is it that as long as the person (family member) meets the criteria stated for succession rights, succession can take place over and over again. Note, the original lease dated 1968 is in my husband's name only. Thank you.

Asked on 7/27/18, 1:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

As you already know this is a very important situation and you need to hire a lawyer and not rely on free advice on the internet.

Good luck

Read more
Answered on 7/27/18, 7:29 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York