Legal Question in Real Estate Law in New York

If I write and sign a contract/agreement with the owner of the real state to prove we co-own by ourselves, is it legally valid?


Both the deed and the mortgage is under the name of the property. Now under the agreement, we would like to have us co-own the property and pay for the mortgage. If we write or sign a contract/agreement by ourselves, will the contract/agreement legally valid? Or we have to add my name to the property, or deed, to guarantee my ownership?

Asked on 3/15/20, 3:05 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

No that will not work. Only a deed says who owns the real estate. You need to be very careful with this.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 3/15/20, 3:54 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in New York