Legal Question in Sexual Harassment in New York

I work for a medical practice and recently started a sexual relationship with an outside physician who performs surgeries occassionally at my office. No one in the office knows about this relationship because I wanted to keep my business private and he is also friends with one of my bosses. He just informed me that my boss sent him a message asking if we were having sex. He said the staff told him that they see us talk when he comes to my office. As of right now everyone is just assuming. My friend also just informed me that he has been in negotiations to join the practice I work for. If he informed me of this from the start I would of never had relations with him. Now since my boss is suspicious he is worried and asked me to sign a waiver stating I wouldnt sue him or my bosses in the future for sexual harrassment. I'm very upset that my boss is suspicious and I am also worried about my reputation. Neither me or the doctor is married. Is my job at risk? What should I do?

Asked on 12/16/10, 5:07 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Scott Ziegler Ziegler, Ziegler & Associates LLP

You should not sign any waivers, but should call our office and speak to Chris Brennan about a possible claim you might have vis a vis the doctor etc. Chris can be reached at our office number 212-319-7600.

Read more
Answered on 12/21/10, 5:18 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Sexual Harassment Law questions and answers in New York