Legal Question in Tax Law in New York

I filed Chpt 7 in Sept 2012. Thought house was Reaffirmed but in fact was not (lawyer died during proceeding and new lawyer did not follow thru.) I received a loan modification in 2015 (HUD loan $30k). Lost job later in 2015 and foreclosure began. made it to 2017 and received second Loan Modification in early 2017 (second HUD loan $30k; now $60k in total.) House Value $235,000 Mortgage $195,000 + 2 HUDS secondary of $60,000 = $255,000 Wife files for divorce summer 2018 doesnt pay bills and house in foreclosure again. I know mortgage company cannot come after me personally but question is on HUDS two loans and tax consequences for a 1099C from HUD... Question: Is it better tax wise - regarding HUD loans - to: 1) let them foreclose 2.) short sale 3.) deed in lieu foreclosure. Thanks.

Asked on 3/23/18, 11:30 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

This question and your situation are too complicated to answer by email.

Good luck, I hope everything works out for you.

Read more
Answered on 3/23/18, 3:05 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in New York