Legal Question in Tax Law in New York

Seems like a very simple question, but there is no direct, clear answer online.

When I pay an estimated tax payment to the IRS (because I'm working freelance with no withholding), does that amount, which I have calculated, include the "self-employment tax" of full social security and Medicare payments?

It's a Masonic-like mystery if that amount includes all my tax liability (aside from NYS estimated tax).


Asked on 4/11/17, 12:06 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

Yes. Compute your estimated tax payments based on all forms of income, as well as self employment taxes.

Read more
Answered on 4/11/17, 12:55 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Tax and Taxation Law questions and answers in New York