Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

My deceased father divided all of his property, money and tangible, equally amongst his three children. There was a valuable dining room set that he specifically left to me, and asked my older sister to "hold" it for me until I got married. He felt that as my two sisters had received their fair share of tangibles, and that I had received nothing, the dining room set would balance things out. My older sister has been holding and using the dining room set, and thinks that it belongs to her. I am 76 and have never married.

Asked on 10/17/17, 9:19 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

If you never got married, then the conditions of the bequest of the dining room set from your father have not yet been satisfied.

Read more
Answered on 10/18/17, 10:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York