Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

I was the executor of my father's "Will" back in 2013. As required, I got a local probate attorney (the actual attorney who wrote the will & knew my father) in the county in which he lived in Georgia. The attorney told me "EVERYTHING" that needed to be done legally had been done, probate court papers signed, payments to whom ever was owed, property taxes, etc... Including the newspaper notices for creditors, etc...

There are a total of 4 aires in which this will included. Myself, my biological sister and 2 half sisters that I have never known or met. The attorney in question had been very aware of the 2 half sisters (their mother had passed away yrs before). He even asked if I knew them or knew where they were/lived? I told him I did not. He said very well, we need to post in the local newspaper for anybody with claims to the estate to come forward (or something like that - it's been 4 yrs) I have never heard from them and was told by the attorney that everything was done as far as notification was concerned and that anybody with claim to my father's estate had XXX amount of time to come forward.

My question is (remember ALL legalities were met) : how long must I hold the half sisters funds in an estate account? My biological sister already got her portion back in 2013, due to the fact she is local and I know where she lived and in contact with her. The other 2 half sisters I never met have never come forward.

I hope that was clear enough and please remember, the lawyer/probate attorney said ALL was done as per local laws. I live in New York and the will executed in Georgia if you think that makes a difference.

Asked on 10/17/17, 8:20 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

I don’t understand why you are asking this question when you had a lawyer handling this for you.

Read more
Answered on 10/17/17, 8:34 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York