Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

Hi, Can someone who was named as executor of a friend's will, decline his duties when that Friend dies?

Asked on 9/10/22, 6:04 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.

Yes. The will may name a successor. If not, the Court will appoint an Executor.

Read more
Answered on 9/10/22, 6:11 pm
Walter LeVine Walter D. LeVine, Esq.

Yes. Just decline by notifying the surrogate.

Read more
Answered on 9/10/22, 8:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York