Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

I probated my mom's will. Her estate amounted to more than 50, 000 (but the full 50, 000 was not sent to me) 30,000 was issued to my mom's estate to pay off the nursing home for 2 months (a check in the nursing homes name was issued), and a life insurance policy of 24,000 issued to the estate to be distributed evenly to myself and my sister. The monies have been paid to all parties and there are no more creditors involved. I would like to close probate and I looked on Surrogate Court for NY website and noticed the Inventory of Assets form. Is this all I need to close out the probate OR do I have to request the surrogate court to close the probate? I am at a loss and I would like to do the right thing. Thank you.

Asked on 10/02/19, 11:45 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

File the List of Assets/Inventory and that's it. Probate is closed.

Read more
Answered on 10/02/19, 9:03 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York