Legal Question in Wills and Trusts in New York

How are stocks transferred when one estate is inheriting from another before being inherited by living beneficiary?

Regarding stock transfers (with no transfer on death beneficiary), assuming the stocks have already been transferred from the decedent into the decedent’s estate, if one estate is inheriting from another estate, can the person who is the administrator of both estates (and also the sole beneficiary of the inheriting estate) transfer the stock to themselves directly from the first estate or must the stock be transferred two more times i.e. from the first estate to the inheriting estate and then to the sole living beneficiary of the inheriting estate?

Asked on 5/07/18, 9:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Richard Bryan Richard Bryan Attorney PC

You have to go through all the steps: from one estate to the other and then out to the beneficiaries. There are lots of different procedures which much be followed at each step. You can't sidestep anything.

Good luck.

Read more
Answered on 5/07/18, 11:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Probate, Trusts, Wills & Estates questions and answers in New York