Legal Question in Business Law in North Carolina

i signed a vehicle lease on April 7 2014. I paid $1000.00 for a down payment. I was signed up under a program that helps rebuild your credit. After signing and driving off the lot, days later, I was informed that I had to take care of a certain debt. With minimal communication with the sales manager. I told the dealership that the debt will be taken care of this week (the last week of April). I get paid on May 2 2014 and will satisfy the debt. After review of the lease agreement, there is not a term specific to the requirement that they are imposing upon me at this time. Are the actions of this dealership legally correct? I was told that I MUST come to the dealership on Wednesday (I live 3 1/2 hours away) to assure them that the debt will be satisfied on May 2. I informed the sales manager that it is not likely that I will be able to take Wednesday off (I just started this job in Jan 2014) The manager pretty much said that he didn't care about me not being able to receive approval for the day off. I feel like I was swindled into a lease agreement. I was not told that it was a lease until after I signed the documents. I was at the dealership for over 3 hours, thinking that they did all of the verifications then. That is what is done to secure a loan before requiring signatures, correct? Now, I run the risk of being without a vehicle. Please help. I was also told by the bank that the dealership had not sent over documents that I faxed on April 9. I talked to the dealership and the sales manager said that they had everything. Who should I believe? What is really going on? Please help.

Asked on 4/29/14, 3:39 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law

You need to speak to an attorney and show them the agreement. You say you didn't know it was a lease until after, did you read the contract and not question it when it wasn't a sales contract?

Read more
Answered on 5/09/14, 1:47 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Business Law questions and answers in North Carolina