Legal Question in Consumer Law in North Carolina

The lease for my storage unit does not mention anywhere that the rent could be increased. I signed the lease agreeing to pay the agreed amount of $240 for two units, after a fire occurred the company increased the rent to $310 without having me sign a new lease. Is this legal

Asked on 8/18/21, 10:21 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Lynn Coleman Attorney-Mediator

How long was the lease for? if it was month to month, it is not a breach of contract to increase the rent. It is my understanding and personal experience that most storage facilities use month to month leases.

Read more
Answered on 8/19/21, 8:30 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in North Carolina