Legal Question in Criminal Law in North Carolina

Some preface, I was in a WhatsApp group for stock trading. I have this group on silent but I’ll check it out every few days to see what’s everyone talking about. WhatsApp has a feature where it automatically saves files sent to your phone, whether these are pictures/videos or documents. I have OneDrive from Microsoft set up so that my images and videos are automatically uploaded to my account. The issues comes from what was sent on WhatsApp. Someone decided to start sharing porn and some of the porn was child porn. I discovered it in my camera roll and immediately deleted it. Took me a bit to figure out where it came from but I left the group and turned off the automatic download feature. I received an email from Microsoft yesterday saying that my upload was successful. When I checked what that was, it was the porn. I immediately went to delete the files but it wouldn’t let me delete the illegal stuff. Microsoft also blocked my account this morning. I tried contacting them trying to explain but they said it was a violation of their service agreement and couldn’t do anything. I’ve lost all my files and purchases but that’s secondary to this issue.

Microsoft will most likely report my account, what do I do?


Asked on 12/30/20, 1:17 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amanda Houser The Houser Law Firm, P.C.

You do what any reasonable intelligent person faced with possible criminal prosecution does - you shut your mouth and lawyer up. Best of luck.

Read more
Answered on 12/30/20, 1:21 pm


Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in North Carolina