Legal Question in Elder Law in North Carolina

As medical power of attorney over a resident in a nursing home, can I tell the facility (CNA, nurse, DON, etc...) that I want the resident to get out of bed and into a chair by 10:00am and put back into bed by 3:00pm or if the resident objects to either of these requests they must follow the residents wishes?

Asked on 2/08/19, 1:12 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kelli Allen Kelli Y Allen Immigration & Elder Law

You can make the request, but if the resident is able to communicate his/her wishes, then his/her wishes prevail. You are not able to override his/her express instructions as long as he/she is competent.

Read more
Answered on 2/08/19, 1:39 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Elder Law questions and answers in North Carolina