Legal Question in Family Law in North Carolina

My husband and I have separated. I have 6 cats. He is demanded I give him one or more of the cats which I refuse. His reason is he has paid some of the cats Vet bills over the 9 1/2 years so the cat belongs to him. My reason for saying no is I am afraid he will neglect the cat. He has never bought any of their daily supplies. Took part in their day to day care. I am the person they are listed to as soul owner at the Vet that gives them care. I know this is a civil matter but what else can I do to protect them and keep them in my care.


Asked on 9/05/18, 8:51 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amanda Houser The Houser Law Firm, P.C.

Give the man a cat or offer to reimburse him for the vet bills he has paid so he can get his own cat.

Read more
Answered on 9/05/18, 9:25 am


Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in North Carolina