Legal Question in Civil Litigation in North Carolina

A friend ask to borrow my money $14,600. He promise to pay back in september but he his now nowhere o be found. The reason i let him borrow because he said he own the gas station that he was only a manager. On the check he also wrote 15% collateral. I also got a lot of text message to proof that he admit borrow and owe money and sell me share of the business , which he does not own. Is that consider scamming? Is that enough to put him in jail if he doesn't pay back?

Asked on 9/12/12, 3:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Kenneth Love Ken Love Law

If you feel a criminal act has occured you need to go to your county magistrate's office and swear out a warrant. They may not get your money will need the evidence you have to potentially sue him in civil court for a judgment.

Read more
Answered on 12/06/12, 11:32 am

Related Questions & Answers

More General Civil Litigation questions and answers in North Carolina