Legal Question in Immigration Law in North Dakota

I am on H1B visa and my visa valid till for next yr. Now I resigned my current company who is holding my H1B and planning to move back to my home country..So I am not doing any visa transfer , as moving back.. If my last day of work is 20 sep, then how long after 20 sep I can stay in US legally?

I m plannig to stay for 1 week after my last day before I move back .. Is that ok to stay for 1 week after last day though I wont be having my employer for that period?

Asked on 9/08/10, 7:30 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Ajay Arora Ajay K. Arora, Attorney-at-Law, P.C.


There is a 10-day grace period in H1B status in which to remain in the U.S. after termination of employment. Thus, it is OK to remain for a week.

Read more
Answered on 9/14/10, 6:13 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in North Dakota